Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee on Community Engagement

The IKBLC Advisory Committee on Community Engagement provides a forum for discussion and consideration of the role and activities of the Learning Centre’s external community-oriented services. The Advisory Committee’s membership includes UBC and community stakeholders to ensure that program advice represents a broad range of interests and perspectives.

While the Committee is not a Steering Committee, IKBLC staff ask the Committee to engage in a wide range of discussions and make informed recommendations as to the Learning Centre’s service priorities and development, and we, in turn, take Committee recommendations seriously, following up on directions and ideas.

Current Members (2014-2015)

  • Andy Ackerman, Trustee, Fort St. John Public Library Board, President, British Columbia Library Trustees Association
  • Don Black, Director of Community Programs, Continuing Studies, UBC
  • Vacant, Social Planning and Research Council of BC
  • Susan Grossman, Director, UBC Community Learning Initiative
  • Sue Hanley, Consultant, Victoria, BC
  • Eve Hope, Head Librarian, Hazelton District Public Library
  • Linc Kesler, Director, First Nations Studies Program and Director & Sr. Advisor to the President on Aboriginal Affairs, UBC
  • Michelle Lamberson, Director, Flexible Learning Special Projects, Office of the Provost, UBC
  • Cathy Mercer, Director of Student and Enrolment Services, Selkirk College
  • Deanna Nyce, President of Wilp Wilxo’oskwhl Nisga’a Institute, located in Gitwinksihlkw
  • Marilyn Petersen, Acting Vice-President, Education, College of the Rockies
  • Chris van der Mark, Superintendent, School District 54, Bulkley Valley
  • Daphne Wood, Director, Planning & Organizational Development, Vancouver Public Library
  • Ex Officio:  Simon Neame, Director, Irving K Barber Learning Centre
  • Ex Officio:  Gordon Yusko, Assistant Director, Irving K Barber Learning Centre