Irving K Barber Learning Centre AESN Video

Video sponsored by the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre. Schools participate in the Aboriginal Enhancement Schools Network (AESN) on a voluntary and annual basis. AESN schools link their inquiry specifically to Aboriginal ways of knowing. The Spiral of Inquiry provides school teams with the structure for guiding their improvement and innovation work. Participating schools develop and submit an inquiry focus, collaborate with colleagues through regional meetings, and share case studies in a spirit of generosity and curiosity.


Lynne Tomlinson (Director of Instruction), SD 45, West Vancouver

Trish Catherine (Teacher), Ecole Ballenas Secondary SD 69, Qualicum

Paul Boyd (Teacher) WL Seaton Secondary, SD 22, Vernon

Marcus Toneatto (Principal), South Okanagan Secondary School, SD 53, Okanagan Similkameen

Mary Neto (Teacher), Smithers Secondary, SD 54, Bulkley Valley

Roberta Edzerza, (District Principal, Aboriginal Education) and Sandy Pond (Principal), Charles Hays Secondary, SD 53, Prince Rupert

Robert Taddei, (Teacher), Frank Hurt Secondary SD 36, Surrey


Select Books and Articles Available at UBC Library

West Vancouver, School District 45. Aboriginal education Annual Report 2009-2016. [Link]

Okanagan Similkameen, School District 453. Aboriginal education enhancement agreement 2014-2019. [Link]

Halbert & Kaser (2013). Spirals of inquiry : for equity and quality. Vancouver: BC Principals’ & Vice-Principals’ Association [Available at Education Library Stacks LB1027.44 .H3424 2013]

Halbert & Kaser (2009). Leadership mindsets: innovation and learning in the transformation of schools. London; New York: Routeledge [Available at Education Library Stacks LB2805 .K367 2009]

Leave a Reply